Watch live: Fly Your Satellite! CubeSats and Sentinel-1B launch

25 April 2016

ESA Education 'Fly Your Satellite!' student-built CubeSats and ESA's Earth Observation Sentinel-1B radar satellite are set for launch from French Guiana on 25 April at 21:02 GMT (23:02 CEST). Follow the launch via live webstream.

The launch was originally planned for 22 April but weather conditions and a technical issue delayed liftoff.

On 25 April, ESA's satellites will be launched on a Soyuz rocket from Europe’s Spaceport near Kourou in French Guiana.

The launch of Sentinel-1B also provides an opportunity for the three education CubeSats to get a ride into space. They were developed by teams of university students through ESA Education's ‘Fly Your Satellite!’ programme in collaboration with European universities. The other satellite that is piggybacking a ride is Microscope from the French space agency, CNES.

The live webstream will begin at 20:40 GMT (22:40 CEST) and end at 01:30 GMT (03:30 CEST).

Rate this

  • Currently 4.5 out of 5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rating: 4.5/5 (28 votes cast)

Thank you for rating!

You have already rated this page, you can only rate it once!

Your rating has been changed, thanks for rating!

Views

3243