Video replay: ESA selects new European astronauts

A replay of the presentation of six new European astronauts at ESA Headquarters on 20 May 2009. They were introduced by Jean-Jacques Dordain, ESA Director General, and Simonetta Di Pippo, ESA Director of Human Spaceflight.

Presentation of Europe's new astronauts at ESA Headquarters on 20 May 2009 (click to access download versions)Access the image

The six new European astronauts are:

1. Samantha Cristoforetti, Italian
2. Alexander Gerst, German
3. Andreas Mogensen, Danish
4. Luca Parmitano, Italian
5. Timothy Peake, British
6. Thomas Pesquet, French

Rate this

  • Currently 5 out of 5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rating: 5/5 (1 votes cast)

Thank you for rating!

You have already rated this page, you can only rate it once!

Your rating has been changed, thanks for rating!