iriss live

10 September 2015

Watch ESA astronaut Andreas Mogensen return to Earth in the Soyuz TMA-16M spacecraft on 12 September from 00:30 to 01:30 GMT (02:30 to 03:30 CEST). Undocking from the International Space Station is planned for 11 September 21:25 GMT (23:25 CEST) with landing expected at 00:49 GMT (02:49 CEST) the next day.

 

ESA astronaut Andreas Mogensen is on a 10-day mission to the International Space Station to test technology, new ways of running space missions and swap a spacecraft.

Launch: He was launched from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 04:37:43 GMT, 06:37:43 CEST, 10:37:43 local Baikonur time.

Within 10 minutes of liftoff, Andreas, Roscosmos commander Sergei Volkov and Kazakh cosmonaut Aidyn Aimbetov travelled over 1640 km and gained 210 km altitude. Every second for nine minutes, their spacecraft accelerated 50 km/h on average.

Docking: Docking with the International Space Station happened in the morning of Friday 4 September at 07:39 GMT (09:39 CEST). The astronauts opened the hatch between the spacecraft at 10:15 GMT (12:15 CEST).

On Earth, ESA’s Columbus Control Centre at Oberpfaffenhofen near Munich, Germany, will be following and helping Andreas non-stop during his sprint.

Follow the whole mission with live updates via the iriss mission blog and on Twitter via @esaoperations

Connect with Andreas at: andreasmogensen.esa.int

Rate this

  • Currently 5 out of 5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rating: 4.8/5 (176 votes cast)

Thank you for rating!

You have already rated this page, you can only rate it once!

Your rating has been changed, thanks for rating!

Views

56750