Watch live: Sentinel-1B launch

The second in the two-satellite Sentinel-1 radar mission is targeted for launch on Soyuz flight VS14 from Europe’s Spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana, on 25 April at 23:02 CEST (21:02 GMT)

The launch was originally planned for 22 April but weather conditions and a technical issue delayed liftoff.

Streaming from Kourou starts at 22:40 CEST (20:40 GMT).

Sentinel-1 is the first mission for Europe’s Copernicus environment monitoring programme. It carries an advanced radar to provide all-weather, day-and-night images of Earth’s surface.

The Sentinel-1B satellite is ready to be launched on a Soyuz rocket from Europe’s Spaceport near Kourou in French Guiana.

The launch of Sentinel-1B also provides an opportunity to give other smaller satellites a ride into space. Three CubeSats will be carried on the Soyuz rocket. They were developed by teams of university students through ESA's ‘Fly Your Satellite!’ programme run the Education & Knowledge Management Office in collaboration with European universities. The other satellite that is piggybacking a ride is Microscope from the French space agency, CNES.

Read more about Sentinel-1

Rate this

  • Currently 4.5 out of 5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rating: 4.6/5 (326 votes cast)

Thank you for rating!

You have already rated this page, you can only rate it once!

Your rating has been changed, thanks for rating!

Views

63570