Sentinel-3A launch event

Live from ESA, follow the event to celebrate the launch of the third satellite for Europe’s Copernicus environment monitoring programme.

 

The first in the two-satellite mission, Sentinel-3A, is set for launch from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia on 16 February at 17:57 GMT (18:57 CET).

During the event at ESA’s ESOC European Space Operations Centre in Darmstadt, Germany, a number of the key players in the mission will talk about preparing the satellite for launch and discuss its benefits and applications.

The live webstream will begin at 17:00 GMT (18:00 CET) and end at 19:40 GMT (20:40 CET), with a break 18:25–19:10 GMT (19:25-20:10 CET).

Programme (all times in GMT)

17:00   Introduction and welcome addresses by representatives from ESA, the European Commission and the German government

17:20   Status check and introduction to the Plesetsk Cosmodrome

17:30   Introduction to the Copernicus programme and the Sentinel-3 mission

17:50   Live broadcast from Plesetsk             

17:57   Liftoff

18:05   Discussion with a panel of Sentinel-3 data users

18:20   Flight update

18:25   Break

19:10   Live broadcast from Plesetsk: status check

19:20   Presentation on the Copernicus programme and ESA heritage

19:30   Watch the first acquisition of signal live from the Mission Control Room

19:40   End of live coverage from ESOC

Rate this

  • Currently 4.5 out of 5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rating: 4.5/5 (142 votes cast)

Thank you for rating!

You have already rated this page, you can only rate it once!

Your rating has been changed, thanks for rating!

Views

33173