New training for ESA Astronauts

Tue, Jan 23, 2018 | 07:00 - 07:15 GMT | 08:00 - 08:15 CET
Tue, Jan 23, 2018 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET (REPLAY)

ESA TV Exchange – 16:9

In Bonn, Germany, two ESA astronauts recently went through a brand new training programme which could be very useful in case of no contact with the ground..

Samantha Cristoferetti and Matthias Maurer were taught basic mechanical, electronic, electrical and pneumatic skills and how to use these skills to trouble shoot their equipment in space.

This new training, commissioned by ESA, has been developed by the Dr. Reinold-Hagen Foundation and by Space Application Services.

This A&B Roll shows some sessions of this training, it includes interviews with Samantha Cristoforetti, Matthias Maurer and also Olivier Lamborelle from Space Applications Services. 

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Human_Spaceflight/Astronauts
Script: ESA_Astronauttraining_finalscript_shotlist_TC.docx
Preview and download:
http://m.esa.int/esatv/Videos/2018/01/New_training_for_ESA_astronauts
Satellite Parameters
Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.