Sentinel-3B Launch live

Wed, Apr 25, 2018 | 17:30 - 19:45 GMT | 19:30 - 21:45 CEST

ESA TV Live – 16:9

Follow Sentinel-3B satellite launch live transmission.

Lift off is currently planned on a Rockot launcher on 25 April at 17:57 GMT (19:57 CEST) from Plesetsk cosmodrome in Northern Russia.

Sentinel-3B will join its twin, Sentinel-3A, in orbit. The pairing of identical satellites provides the best coverage and data delivery for Europe’s Copernicus programme – the largest environmental monitoring programme in the world.

The satellites carry the same suite of cutting-edge instruments to measure oceans, land, ice and atmosphere. 

The live video transmission will be in 2 parts:

1/ Last preparations at Plesetsk with lift-off, ascent and first flight phase also from ESA's Operations Center (ESOC) in Darmstadt, Germany.

2/ After ballistic flight, separation of satellite, acquisition of signal and management statements from Plesetsk and ESOC.

Live transmission can also be followed on the web via the ESA portal. 

As soon as possible after the TV transmission, launch highlights will be posted on ESA TV ftp server:

Server: tvdownload.esa.int/  Login: esa  Password: ftp4esa 

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Observing_the_Earth/Copernicus
Satellite Parameters

Eutelsat 10A @ 10deg East  Transponder: B03 Channel: B (9MHz)
 D/link Fr: 11051.20MHz Polarisation: X/horizontal
 Signal: 1080i/50 MPEG4 4:2:0 (H264) clear
 SR: 7200 FEC: 3/4 Mod: DVBS2/8PSK
 Pilot: On Roll-off: 0.2 DR: 21.503
Audio 1: English commentary mono
Aurio 2: International sound mono

For any inquiries regarding satellite or ftp reception please contact the ESA TV producer:
Chris Courtenay Taylor at chrisct@worldwidepictures.tv / tel + 44 7774 275 951