Vega C / Ariane 6 : Motor test

Tue, Jul 03, 2018 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST
Tue, Jul 03, 2018 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 18:00 - 18:15 CEST (REPLAY)

ESA TV Exchange – 16:9

The first static firing of the development model of the P120C solid rocket motor will soon take place at Europe’s Spaceport (Centre Spatial Guyanais - CSG).

P120C is the solid propulsion module common to Ariane 6 and Vega-C delivering the thrust at liftoff for both vehicles.

The P120C is the largest solid rocket motor ever built in one piece in the world, with 13.5 m long and 3.4 m in diameter and a total mass of 153 tonnes, of which 142 tonnes is solid fuel.  It delivers a thrust (in vacuum) of about 470 tonnes, over a burn time of 2 minutes 15 sec.

The Programme for the development of Ariane 6 and Vega-C was decided by European Ministers at the ESA Council Meeting at Ministerial Level in 2014, reaffirming a shared vision for space.

The objectives of the Ariane 6 and Vega-C development programmes are to maintain Europe’s autonomous access to space with priority for European institutional missions, while keeping the continuity of current launcher programmes – Ariane programmes (from Ariane 1 to Ariane 5), the Vega programme, and Soyuz at CSG.  The programme aims at ensuring access to space at an affordable cost for Member States, and at maintaining European space industry competitiveness.

This B Roll shows images of the preparation in Kourou of the P120C for its test, it includes aerial views of the propulsion area where the test will take place.

 

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Transportation/Launch_vehicles/Vega-C
Script: Vega-C Ariane 6 Motor test B-Roll FINAL TC.docx
Preview and download:
http://m.esa.int/esatv/Videos/2018/06/Vega-C_-_Ariane_6_P120C_motor_test
Satellite Parameters
Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.