BepiColombo's pre-launch health checks

Fri, Jul 27, 2018 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST
Fri, Jul 27, 2018 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST (REPLAY)

ESA TV Exchange – 16:9

The BepiColombo spacecraft, Europe’s first mission to Mercury, is keeping cool before launch in the equatorial heat of ESA’s spaceport in French Guiana. 

After arriving in May from ESA’s technical Centre in The Netherlands, the spacecraft has been undergoing a series of ongoing pre-launch health checks.

These include mechanical, electrical and propulsion subsystems checks, testing the deployment of its solar panels, and covering the spacecraft in a multi-layered insulation blanket to protection against solar and planetary radiation.

The A and B-roll includes interviews with Hajime Hayakawa, BepiColombo Project Manager, JAXA (English and Japanese); Ulrich Reininghaus, Bepicolombo Project Manager, ESA (English and German); Bernard Guillaume, BepiColombo Assembly Integration and Verification, ESA (French and Dutch, B-roll only).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/BepiColombo
Script: BEPICOLOMBO_PRE_LAUNCH_HEALTH_CHECK _FINAL_TC.docx
Preview and download:
http://m.esa.int/esatv/Videos/2018/07/BepiColombo_s_Pre-launch_health_check
Satellite Parameters
Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.