Galileo: from GIOVE to Constellation

Fri, Jul 20, 2018 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST
Fri, Jul 20, 2018 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST (REPLAY)

ESA TV Exchange – 16:9

Next 25 July with the launch of four more Satellites from Kourou the Galileo constellation will be almost completed.

Since the launch of GIOVE A in 2005 and later Giove-B in 2008 ESA and Galileo have come a long way.

The deployment of the constellation and the ground segment have been a massive undertaking.

So its time to look back and consider the remarkable progress that has been made by Europe in satellite navigation and also to  look towards the future and what it might hold.

This A & B roll recalls the great moments that marked the building of the Galileo constellation. It includes an interview with Paul Verhoef, Dirctor of Navigation, ESA in English and French.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Navigation/Galileo/What_is_Galileo
Satellite Parameters
Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.