Iris flight trials B-Roll

Wed, Jul 11, 2018 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST
Wed, Jul 11, 2018 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST (REPLAY)

ESA TV Exchange – 16:9

Recently tests were conducted from Amsterdam airport for Iris, a programme preparing the next generation of air traffic management.

A plane specifically equipped flew while engineers were monitoring, simulating air traffic control.

Iris is combining digital existing telecom technologies and satellites data links, enabling digital controller-pilot communications over land and sea.

Iris is a public-private partnership initiated by the European Space Agency to enable the European Commission’s Single European Sky Air Traffic Management Research programme to deliver continental satellite communications for air traffic over Europe.

This B roll shows images of the flight test and includes interviews with Antonio Harrison-Sánchez, Iris Safety and Security Lead, ESA (English), Frederik van Essen, Senior Vice President, Inmarsat (English and Dutch) and Danny Bharj, Iris Programme Manager, Inmarsat (English).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Telecommunications_Integrated_Applications/Satellite_Communication_for_Air_Traffic_Management_Iris
Script: Iris_flight_trial_Broll FINAL.doc
Preview and download:
http://m.esa.int/esatv/Videos/2018/07/Iris_flight_trial_B-Roll
Satellite Parameters
Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.