JWST : a beacon for Science

Tue, Jul 31, 2018 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST
Tue, Jul 31, 2018 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST (REPLAY)

ESA TV Exchange – 16:9

Astronomers all over the world are eagerly awaiting the launch of the James Webb Space Telescope.

The infrared space telescope, which will carry the largest astronomical mirror ever flown in space, is one of the most complex observatories ever built. It will allow unprecedented science, including investigations into the atmospheres of exoplanets and the formation of galaxies,  addressing fundamental questions in astronomy

ESA and the Canadian Space Agency are partners in the NASA-led international project, which will launch in 2021 on a European Ariane 5 rocket.

This A&B Rolls contain interviews with Olivia Jones, UK Astronomy Technology Centre (English), Hannah Wakeford, Space Telescope Science Institute (English), Stephen Wilkins, University of Sussex (English), Antonella Nota, ESA JWST project scientist for Guest Observers (English A-roll; Italian and English B-roll), Gillian Wright, European Principal Investigator for JWST MIRI instrument (English B-roll only).

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/JWST
Script: JWST A BEACON FOR SCIENCE SCRIPT FINAL_TC.docx
Preview and download:
http://m.esa.int/esatv/Videos/2018/07/JWST_a_beacon_for_science
Satellite Parameters
Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.