Vega C Solid Motor test

Fri, Feb 15, 2019 | 07:30 - 07:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CET
Fri, Feb 15, 2019 | 16:00 - 16:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CET (REPLAY)

ESA TV Exchange – 16:9

The first qualification model of the P120C solid-fuel motor, configured for Vega-C, was static fired on 28 January on the test stand at Europe’s Spaceport in French Guiana.

Fully loaded with 142 tonnes of fuel, the motor was ignited for a final simulation of liftoff and the first phase of flight.

No anomalies were seen and, according to initial recorded data, the performance met expectations.

A full analysis of these test results will confirm readiness of this motor for Vega-C’s debut launch.

This solid Motor will also be used as boosters for Ariane 6.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Transportation/Launch_vehicles/Europe_s_launchers
Script: 1903_ESA_P120C succesful test_final script_shotlist_V2.docx
Preview and download:
https://m.esa.int/esatv/Videos/2019/02/P120C_second_firing_test
Satellite Parameters
Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.