CHEOPS simulation

Tue, Sep 03, 2019 | 06:30 - 06:45 GMT | 08:30 - 08:45 CEST
Tue, Sep 03, 2019 | 15:00 - 15:15 GMT | 17:00 - 17:15 CEST (REPLAY)

ESA TV Exchange – 16:9

Preparation of the CHEOPS launch is well underway.

This summer teams of scientists and engineers are simulating the launch, early orbit phase and commissioning of the CHEOPS mission ahead of its lift off before the end of the year on a Soyuz from Europe' Spaceport in Kourou, French Guiana..

The simulations are taking place at the CHEOPS Mission Operations Centre at Torrejón de Ardoz, just outside Madrid in Spain.

CHEOPS (CHaracterising ExOPlanet Satellite) is a powerful telescope that will obtain measurements from stars outside our Solar System that have known planets. By measuring the sizes of known planets orbiting bright stars outside our Solar System and when combined with other information we should be able to establish what the planets are made of, how they form and how they evolve.

CHEOPS mission is a partnership between ESA and Switzerland with additional contributions from Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

This A&B Roll shows simulation exercises in Torrejon and contains interviews with Diana de Miguel, CHEOPS Operations manager, Airbus Defence & Space in English and Spanish and David Modrego, Operations Manager, ISDEFE in English and Spanish.

.

More information at: http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space_Science/Cheops
Satellite Parameters
Eutelsat 9A at 9 degrees E, transponder 59, downlink frequency 11900.1 horizontally polarised, symbol rate 27,500 FEC 2/3.